“I wish I knew what I had when you were mine.” I wish this quote wasn’t so familiar to me. I have always strived to be a kind, loyal, forgiving person. I try my best to give multiple chances to everyone. I give second chances to people who don’t always deserve it. But at this point, I feel like people expect me to just forgive and give them another chance. I feel like it doesn’t matter how bad I’ve been hurt, because I’m always just going to be there. This time, it’s too late. I’m leaving. I’m going home. I’ve spent far too long feeling like I have no one and I’m going to where I know I will be loved and cared for. I’m going where I know I have friends I can depend on. 

Today a person I used to date apologized for not trying harder, or at least I think that’s what they were trying to send when they suggested I listen to a song. This person hurt me multiple times. They’ve already had multiple chances. More chances than they deserve. But I’m expected to just forgive. It’s too late now. It’s too late to go back. It’s too late to change things.

This person wasn’t the first person in my life to apologize this week. They weren’t the first person to try to make things right with me. I’m sorry y’all are finally realizing my worth. I’m sorry I’m not going to be here waiting for y’all anymore. I’m realizing my worth too, and I’m doing what’s right for me. I’m being strong for me. Not for anyone else. I’ve got this. I am worthy. I am worthy to be loved in the first place not when you suddenly realize I’m not going to be here anymore. 

I’ll be sad to leave Alabama behind, but I know this move is for the best. I’ve got a great future ahead of me! 

